Yurikuma Arashi 01

Yurikuma Arashi 01: Triangle, triangle

Pon. Of course we won’t know what’s actually going on until the second to last episode, but what did we take away from this? What did you notice?

Oto. This is gonna be awesome, isn’t it?

Pon. Who knows? What did you notice visually? What’s the one big visual thing that stood out to you?

Oto. I am so confused.

Pon. I mean besides the fact that it’s a fucking mess.

Oto. Visually? The school is very colorful.

Pon. It’s very red. Well, sort of reddish pink.

Oto. The rest of the town isn’t. It seems to be the epicenter. Of the storm. If you will.

Pon. Kureha lives in a pink-ass house though.

Oto. Important things are reddish. The wall around the town is pink.

Pon. Maybe. For me it was triangles. There are triangles everywhere. And some hexagons, which are just six triangles stuck together, if you really think about it.

Oto. Illuminati. Did you see any eyes?

Pon. Every character has eyes. Checkmate, atheists.

Oto. This show is hectic. That’s not a bad thing. It’s visually interesting. Maybe interesting isn’t the right word. It’s visually awesome. There’s all this cool shit going on.

Pon. I can just let it wash over me, sort of, but there’s a certain kind of person, who I sympathize with, who I suspect would say it’s cluttered, or that it’s an unpleasant sensory experience. Looks like there are 12 episodes, which makes me wonder how much of this stuff it’ll try to jam in, and whether it’ll get around to introducing an Akio to explain everything.

Oto. Cluttered maybe, but fun as hell. I always feel like I’m missing something when I watch an Ikuhara show. I feel like there’s more to say.

Pon. What can we do besides point to stuff that might be more meaningful later? It’s the first episode. Besides, Ikuhara and the people he works with are like … Jacques Derrida. They’re really good at coming up with confusing-ass ways of presenting simple things. Which is valuable in that it makes you wonder whether things are more complicated, or at least more important, than you thought they were—like, maybe a thing is complicated to the extent that it can be complicated. But it sure doesn’t make episode 1 easily digestible.

Image

Leave a comment